top of page

College Athlete Highlight: Emily Johnson

From Newport Beach to Santa Barbara, soccer player Emily Johnson, is still living out her dreams of being a D1 soccer player at a top university. UC Santa Barbara is a part of the Big West division and is known for being a top soccer program in the state. This season, they have lost just once in the past month which is in turn setting them up to place top four in the Big West standings. Junior Emily Johnson has been an integral part of the women's team and is excited to finish out the season strong. Here is a little bit about Emily and how she got to where she is now.




Emily began her soccer career when she was just 4 years old and continued to play throughout elementary, middle, and high school. She made the varsity team her freshman year of high school which she says, "set me up for success for the rest of my high school career and the beginning of my college one".


Emily is not only a top D1 soccer player here at UCSB but also is involved in many other activities such as delta gamma, greeks go green, and intramural sports as well! When we asked Emily how she manages her time to balance all of these extracurriculars and school she said:


"I make school a priority in my life. Everything else comes second to that because I value my education greatly. To manage my time I like to keep a routine schedule. I write everything in my planner and keep every activity and its scheduled time organized so that I am sure I don't forget it."

We can all take a page from Emily's book! Staying ahead of a busy schedule is a key element of successful time management. Along with being a D1 soccer player here at UCSB, Emily also works as a peer counselor where she helps fellow student athletes juggle their studies and sports schedules. Emily said the biggest piece of advice she offers students is to avoid procrastination. Procrastinating over a long period of time can lead to a decrease in academic performance and worsened mental state. Emily has helped many college athletes excellent both in the classroom and on the field.


Keep an eye out for Emily on the field this season! And if you are looking for more tips on staying motivated you can find her in the Recreational center offices Monday-Friday!


































Barbells

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

To learn more things fitness and wellness click below!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page